5 Books · Books · literature · reading

5 Books that make me cry

Time for a new 5 Books! Now, if you read my blog then you’ll know that I’m a crier…many, many books have made me shed a year over the years but in this instance I’m talking about great big ugly sobs. Hopefully I’m not the only one who has had to decipher words through teary eyes! 

There were honestly, a lot for me to choose from. So many in fact that this list may end up having a part two. I have however managed to narrow it down.

  1. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K Rowling

Now this isn’t the only Harry Potter to make me cry…It is the only one that nearly broke me however. I think the tears during this one were partly due to it being the last installment but let’s be honest, there is plenty to get out crying in this book! I think I started during Harry’s goodbye to the Dursleys and it pretty much didn’t stop. I was dehydrated by the end of it! I still cry anytime I reread it!

2. A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

This is quite a recent read for me and the first book to make me cry in a while. The story lends itself to tears of course, this kind of novel always does. But it was the unashamed truthfulness of it that got me.

3. The Fault in our Stars by John Green

Again we have another book pretty much designed to make me cry. I went in to it knowing it was a likelihood, yet, I still wasn’t quite prepared for how much this book was going to hurt. Ow!

4. One Day by David Nicholls

I actually put this book down and almost didn’t pick it back up again. I was mad at the author for doing that to me. I just didn’t deserve it after investing so much time!

5. A Little Princess by Frances Hodgson Burgess

This is probably my first memory of crying at a book. I was maybe eight or nine when I read it and it became (and still is) my favourite book. I really felt a true emotional connection to Sara the likes of which is hard to find

What books make you cry?

You can check out my other 5 Books lists here

3 thoughts on “5 Books that make me cry

  1. I can’t remember if I cried reading The Deathly Hallows but I definitely did with A Monster Calls and The Fault In Our Stars. I haven’t read The Little Princess but I’ve seen the films, both animated and

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

