blogging · Books · Writing

My Writing Journey – Week 7

Welcome to week 7! Yes, I know, what happened to week 6? Well, I’ve been pretty ill the past two weeks sadly, the kind of ill when your brain just won’t function long enough to do anything constructive. This week however, I’m feeling much better, despite my anaemia which I’ll be needing an iron infusion for, but that’s fine, sitting with a drip for five hours just means writing time.

Anyway let’s get on with the show! As you might have guessed from the above, I haven’t managed a great deal of writing. I have however taken a slightly different approach to the novel I am working on. Usually stories come to me in scenes, this particular one though has come to me in conversations. I now have notebooks filled with dialogue so it looks more like I’m writing a script. As I come to write the scenes I then fill in around the dialogue, I won’t write the entire novel like that of course but for now my pivotal scenes exist in conversation.

That is not all I have been up to though. For the past week I’ve been doing a final edit of a YA novel that I will be releasing next week on Kindle. Some people might disagree with writing in different genres and maybe I should be sticking to one to build up a readership but I see this as the advantage of self publishing, I’m not restricting myself. For example, plans are already in the works for a science fiction novel in the coming months, if I was traditionally published I wouldn’t have this option (unless I was a bestselling author) so I personally am enjoying being able to jump genres and age ranges. 

The novel was originally going to be published in full on Wattpad but I’ve scrapped that idea now, I just want it out there! It is a YA novel about women’s rights and so, what with International Women’s Day being next Wednesday, it will be released next week to coincide with it. I’ve revamped the book cover and combed through novel, checking for inevitable mistakes, and it is now nearly ready for release.

The last thing I did this week was join Goodreads! I know, it’s taken me forever! But I’m over there now if you’d like to join me! I sill need to fill my profile out and find my way around a bit but I’ll get there!

I think that’s about everything, hopefully next week I will have made some real strides with my writing but I guess we’ll have to wait and see.

I hope your writing week has been more exciting than mine!

2 thoughts on “My Writing Journey – Week 7

  1. Carry on the good work Sarah, and hope you’re fully recovered soon. Congratulations on your ‘soon to be released’ novel too, and I agree with you, why should we stick to one genre! I’ll look forward to the release, I expect you’ll post it so I’ll keep an eye out.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

