5 Books I Regret Reading

I have been posting a lot about my writing lately so here’s something book related!

There are plenty of reasons I might regret reading a book and it’s not always just because it was crap. Though that is often a contributing factor!

1. Fifty Shades of Grey by E. L. James

Yes I know, I’ve made my feelings quite clear on this one! However, the biggest reason I regret reading this, is that it felt like I gave in to peer pressure. I knew the thing was bad…You’ve only got to read the first page to know that! It wasn’t at all what I usually read other than its connection to Twilight. I read it because everyone else was, even though I knew I shouldn’t!

2. Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl

I still haven’t finished this series, yes it has been a couple of years now! I only have one left but I can’t quite bring myself to read it yet. This one isn’t bad per se it’s more that it’s well I don’t know! It’s just a bit of nothing really. However, as I started reading the series I’m now locked in, I have no choice but to finish it at some point, it’s a compulsive need of mine!

3. The Bunker Diary by Kevin Brooks

I had to read this for my degree, so I’m going to blame the university for this one! I still haven’t actually gotten over this book, honestly, bits of it still haunt me. Now, don’t get me wrong, it is an amazing book! It is just awful all at the same time. It is one that everyone should read (contradiction I know), but maybe go into with some warning that I didn’t have.

4. Flawed by Cecelia Ahern

After being a fan of Cecelia Ahern for so long this book came as such a disappointment. I was convinced that her move to YA would be seamless and it wasn’t. Reading a bad book by an author I admire is much harder than I thought it would be. I wish I’d stuck to her adult books and I’m just hoping her next one makes up for it!

5. Breaking Dawn by Stephenie Meyer

Yes I was a huge fan of Twilight, I loved it! No point pretending or trying to be a book snob when I’m not. I genuinely liked the Twilight Saga, that is until Breaking Dawn was released. It is a bad, written for the money, unrealistic (and yes I know we’re talking about vampires here!), book. This one makes the list because it was crap, awful actually and it ruined the whole thing for me. She should’ve stopped at Eclipse and so should I have.

So, there you have it, five books I wish I had thought twice about before reading!

What would be on your list?

2 thoughts on “5 Books I Regret Reading

  1. Nice article! Can’t say I ever made it through a whole book that didn’t keep my attention, but I have a whole slew of movies that killed hours out of my life! Thanks for the warning on these five books, which I will be avoiding.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

