blogging · Books · literature · Writing

My Writing Journey – Week 2

Expected word count – 20,000

Actual word count – 20,163

Well, I’m back after a weeks worth of writing and feeling pleasently surprised! In my last post I said that I had planned on writing 2,000 words a day…this didn’t completely go to plan but I managed to catch up regardless. Virtual high five for me! I’ll be honest, there were two days where I added nothing at all to my novel…zero. But by some miracle last night I came up with 6,000 words putting me back on track. Yes, smug face.

There is a moment when you’re on a roll and the adrenaline gets going and it is one of the best feelings I get as a writer! Maybe in the edit I will cut most of those words, who knows, but it doesn’t take anything away from that moment of elation.

I had absolutely no intention of distracting myself from my writing this week…so of course I got extremely distracted! I spent an inordinate amount of time choosing the right music this week. However, I’m thrilled to say I found it! I don’t know about you but I can’t write without music on (I mean I can…I just don’t want to!)and with every novel I write I kind of build a soundtrack. So far, I had been unable to locate just the right atmosphere in the music I was listening to, so after going through nine CDs I finally found it! And it’s perfect.

Another thing I was preoccupied with this week is WattPad
. It wasn’t something I had really taken much notice of before, I had an account but hadn’t used it yet. So, this week I started exploring it a little more and I’m considering publishing one of my novels on there. I’m intrigued by the serialisation of it and the community. This is still under consideration however.

WattPad then led me to book covers. Because you know how it is when you get carried away! So I spent three hours playing around with a design tool online. Whether I publish on WattPad or when eventually I hopefully publish on Kindle, I’m going to need a cover! This was not as fun as I thought it would be however experimenting with different designs has been extremely helpful for me.

And that’s about it! I’ve just reached the first real emotional pull in my novel and honestly, I got a little teary at it last night. Though whether that was because of my superb writing ability or my emotional imbalance because of my period, I’m not sure! Hopefully I’ll still be on track this time next week and so it will be time to finally think about book titles… hopefully!

Thanks for reading, I hope you’ll join me next week.

Check out last weeks post here

2 thoughts on “My Writing Journey – Week 2

  1. What music did you find? I’m a huge fan of writing music- currently my favorites are Skyrim X Elder Scrolls (three hours of basically emotional background noise? Yes.) and The Young Victoria (for my fluff stories).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Glad you are too! I’m very heavy on lyrics and the emotional pull of the words so it changes very often depending on what I’m writing! But for this particular, contemporary​ romance novel, I actually ended up with an odd mix of Christina Aguilera’s ‘Lotus’ and Kate Bush’s ‘Hounds of Love’!

      Like

Leave a Reply

