IBD Awareness Week

Crohn’s and Colitis Awareness Week

Day 1

The 1st of December for the majority of people signals the countdown to Christmas, opening the first window on your advent calendar. For me and so many others it is the beginning of Crohn’s and Colitis Awareness week. My book blog will take a little hiatus while I share some of my experiences this week in the hope of raising some awareness.

Briefly put Crohn’s and Colitis are Inflammatory bowel diseases, I’ll go in to it in more depth in this week’s posts however you can find plenty of information about the disease here at Crohn’s and Colitis UK

I have Ulcerative Colitis, it was diagnosed in 2002 when I was just 12. My symptoms were present through a fair amount of my childhood, but they became more noticeable and problematic in my last year of primary school. I have had a very up and down journey with my disease and would like to share some of that with you this week.

This awareness week is a way for us to try and expand understanding of IBD and of invisible illnesses. One of my major hurdles was a lack of understanding and the stigma of the poo disease while growing up. I hope that anyone with IBD will feel free to join in with any of my posts and that anyone without will take the time to not only read my post but all the great posts and stories that will be available this week.

7 thoughts on “Crohn’s and Colitis Awareness Week

Leave a Reply

