5 Books I Loved at School

Now technically I didn’t read all of these books at school because, well, my school life is a little unusual! However two of the books…or plays, on my list I read as part of my GCSE year, which in normal circumstances would have been at school. So they still count!

Required reading at school is not enjoyable for everyone, but as an avid bookworm I jumped at any opportunity to read a book! I was also very lucky as the literature I ended up studying I loved. If this list included the books I read for university as well then it would have been almost impossible to pick only five! But the five I have chosen were read either in primary or high school.

1. Stig of the Dump by Clive King

If you don’t know (though you should) Stig of the Dump is about a young boy who meets a caveman he comes across in the dump and they start an unlikely friendship. Surely there are only a few people who haven’t read and loved this book!? Just saying the title throws me back to primary school, it is cemented in my memory bringing with it the smell of the canteen and the sound of the hand held bell ringing.

2. I am David by Anne Holm

I am David follows a young boy who escapes a communist concentration camp and journeys through Europe. It is an emotional and beautiful book, although I read this when I was about ten it is a book that will always stay with me.

3. Goodnight Mister Tom by Michelle Magorian

I think this is another one of those books that most people in Britain have either read or are aware of…or have of course watched the film. A young boy is evacuated to the countryside finding himself in the care of Mister Tom, someone who is, shall we say, disgruntled, at having to home him. However their relationship and what it becomes is a beautiful thing. Parts of this book are heartbreaking others are uplifting, no matter your age, if you haven’t read this book then you really should.

4. An Inspector Calls by J. B. Priestley

Yes it is a play but I am counting it. I won’t say much about this one other than it is a murder mystery of sorts. I absolutely loved it! Its social commentary and ideas of responsibility are played out so well you don’t even realise it’s happening. I encourage you to not only read this but see the play!

5. Romeo and Juliet By William Shakespeare

Yep, another play and a classic. I read this already knowing the story as I’m sure most people did…it is quite famous after all! I have re-read this play countless times and never bore of the tragic story, studying it in depth gave me a deeper understanding of Shakespeare and the beauty of language.

What books do you still remember fondly from school?

2 thoughts on “5 Books I Loved at School

  1. Great list! Pretty cool that you’ve had the chance to read these books back in elementary/high school! My high school experience was quite unusual as well. Since I was in a French education system, English lit was pretty rare. I did get the chance to read The Outsiders by S.E. Hilton, probably the only great book that was mandatory. I also had To Kill a Mockingbird, but the experience behind the reading was ruined by the teacher… I however took it upon myself to read it for myself and simply ADORED it! 😀

    – Lashaan

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

