Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

This post contains no spoilers! Just my general thoughts on the book (I know it’s a script but still technically a book!).

Nineteen years separates these two publications, NINETEEN YEARS. If that doesn’t make you feel old nothing will! For many younger readers of Harry Potter this was probably your first experience of having to wait for a HP to come out…I hope you felt the same mix of anxiety and excitement so many of us have experienced in the past! I also hope the wait was worth it for everyone.

The moment I had my hands on this book I felt like a child again! It’s hard to explain the feeling to anyone who isn’t so invested in Harry’s world, it’s like seeing your best friend again after years of missing them. One of the things I love about Harry Potter is that it holds its own meaning to everyone who reads it. Harry Potter has been there for some of the hardest parts of my life, my constant companion through years of illness. For this book to come out at the end of one of the worst flares I have experienced is almost like fate!

Anyway, on to the book…

I’ve got to be honest, this story could have been absolutely awful and I think I probably still would have loved it! Blinded by my love of Harry Potter. And the truth is I have mixed feelings about the book that I have been unable to sort out yet. It was so full of nostalgia I cried through most of it (I’m a crier), mostly because I was back in Harry’s world. There are parts I’m still unsure about, I won’t spoil it for anyone, but if this had been a proper follow on novel purely written by J K Rowling I think I would have been disappointed. I also feel that I’m unable to review it properly because to be appreciated, it really has to be seen (sadly I won’t be experiencing it properly until October!). But it still held all the adventure, excitement and rollercoaster of emotions I’ve come to expect from Harry Potter.

I know there are many people out there who probably were disappointed. I found the story hard to reconcile myself with and in some parts a little unbelievable. However, I can forgive that. The character’s we love have not changed, just grown up. They’re still flawed especially Harry, but how could they not be after what they went through?!

I hope that everyone who has read this or will read it, still experienced the same thrill they had when reading the first one. And I hope you weren’t too affected by it coming to an end once again! I’ve had to experience Harry Potter ending twice now and it was just as hard as the first time.

I can’t pretend that I won’t always be secretly hoping we’ll find ourselves in Harry’s world again! But if this really is the final goodbye (which I expect it is) I’m happy and I hope you are too.

2 thoughts on “Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

  1. Coincidentally, I posted my review of Harry Potter and the Cursed Child today as well (having started reading it yesterday). I would love to see more.books too (and can’t wait to see the film coming out in the autumn). I can suspend disbelief and imagine even more tales following the lives of various offspring… but then I am quite into family sagas. Read my review here: http://createdtoread.com/book-review-harry-potter-and-the-cursed-child/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

