Book Review · Books · literature · reading · Young Adult Books

Book Review: From the Wreckage by Michele G. Miller

I needed something to read on my phone so I downloaded this to go to London. Suffice to say I didn’t really read while I was there so I ended up starting this the following Saturday. And finishing it the same day! From the Wreckage is a YA novel told by the protagonist Jules and centres around the aftermath of a tornado. 
I’ll start with the postives. First this is a quick read so whether you enjoy it or not it will be over pretty quickly. Secondly, and this is probably the most important part, the story is a love story, however it has a heavy emphasis on friendship. Recently I published the post What’s with all the love stories in YA? In it I questioned why there isn’t more friendship in YA novels. Despite this book being a love story it kept the element of friendship that I liked. The book deals with relationships and grief, and the ripple effect a major event can have on a small town.

Now to the negatives. I was hugely put off at the beginning of this novel by all the stereotypes and the slang used by the teenagers. It felt oddly like I was reading something from the nineties. This was something I had to learn to ignore just to get through the story. There was also the cringeworthy reference to Buffy the Vampire Slayer. It felt a little out of place in a novel based in 2014 (despite it always being relevant to me!). I had to skip over one of the characters insistence on calling Jules, Buffy. It drove me insane, Buffy didn’t even get called Buffy as much as she did. 

All in all it wasn’t the greatest of books. The writing was decent and the subject was interesting however I’m not completely sold on the execution. Im in no rush to pick up the sequel though I may do in the futurae. An easily consumable story, it is fine for a quick read to while away the afternoon.

Leave a Reply

