Book Review: Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard

I’m annoyed! I’ll get the usual out of the way first but I just had to let you know this before I could continue.
Glass Sword is the sequel to Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard (which you can read my review of here.). This book took me an inordinate amount of time to finish! I felt exhausted by the time I was done. It isn’t a huge book, although it is longer than Red Queen. One of my initial annoyances with the novel is it’s actual physical size, my copy was a paperback yet it would have been better suited to a hardback. I found it unusually hard to read because of this…but that’s only a small issue that probably only annoyed me.

The book picks up exactly where Red Queen ended so that you are thrown into the action straight away. I liked this because it meant that I didn’t end up reading a first chapter explaining what had happened in between, it felt more natural.

So, onto why I was so frustrated with this book. I’ll be honest, on more than one occasion I was tempted to shelve it for later. If it wasn’t for Aveyard’s beautiful prose I probably would have. Her skills as an author are definitely to be envied! Had her writing been lacking I would probably still be trawling through it now!

I think that many of the chapters could have been condensed. I understand the need for build up and explanation but for a long time it felt very repetitive. Again, it was the well written prose that pulled me through.

I can’t say that I was a big fan of Mare as a character, she felt like a protagonist I had come across far too many times. Also the constant references to lightening were starting to bug me a bit. However by the end of the novel I felt like she finally came into her own, standing out as a character in her own right.

Here is why the book really pissed me off! The ending was great! The last couple of chapters I sped through, as soon as the climax to the novel started to build I was hooked. So I couldn’t help but feel annoyed that we hadn’t got there sooner. Maybe it was just me but,  I worry that some readers might have been put off by the in between and not reached the excitement of the ending! Maybe had the book not had quite so much preamble I may have finished it much sooner.

Despite my issues with it. Glass Sword is a great read and a worthy follow up to its predecessor and although I was unsure half way through, I am now thoroughly looking forward to the next book!

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard

Leave a Reply

