blogging · London · miscellaneous

London’s calling

Last weekend I went with my sister, mum and best friend to London. It isn’t my first time and it definitely won’t be my last. Usually I go to see a show but this time we visited for my sister’s upcoming 30th birthday! So it’s not about books but I loved it so much I thought I would share a bit of our trip with you…

First of all, we stayed in a lovely Holiday Inn just off Oxford street which was great value for the money and in a great location. I would definitely recommend it for anyone looking for a reliable hotel chain in a central location.

Second, if you are visiting London for more than one day I would recommend you get yourself an Oyster card. We topped it up before we went and were covered for the tubes all weekend, and even used it for a trip up the river. They make life much easier!

So, on the first day we visited Madame Tussauds. I wasn’t completely sold on going there, it was never somewhere I had been interested in going however the weekend was all for my sister and she really wanted to go. If you are planning on going I would recommend looking into vouchers! We managed to get all four of us in for the price of one ticket, using tesco vouchers and a 2 for 1 voucher from a bag of buttons! Be aware however that we had to use two separate queues, this meant that me and my friend, who used tesco vouchers, made it inside much quicker than the other two. The main attraction is the wax models which were very well done and surprisingly realistic, but there is also a short ride through Britain’s history and (at least when we went) a 4D experience. I’m not sure it’s worth the money if you pay full price however you do get a fair bit for your money.

 

 

On the second day we explored London a little. My favourite stop was in King’s Cross Station to visit the entrance to Platform 9 and 3/4. There is quite a queue to take your picture here however if you’re fan of Harry Potter then it’s worth the wait! There’s a great little gift shop next door too where I was treated to my own acceptance letter to Hogwarts!

 

We took a boat trip on the river instead of using the tube in the afternoon, we even managed to time it just right so we could see London Bridge opening. We had pretty good weather so were able to spend some time with a beer in Trafalgar Square, sitting at the edge of the fountains.

 

Although I will be back in October, I just had to visit the Palace Theatre. I can’t wait to see Harry Potter and the Cursed Child and the facade has been done beautifully.

 

We had a lovely dinner in an Italian restaurant just off Covent Garden, then walked back to the Hotel. London at night is such an exciting place to be, we took in a fire eater show, we strolled up the Mall to see Buckingham Palace and even had a midnight dance on Oxford Street. The city really comes to life at night!

On the final day we started with the Disney store which was only around the corner from the hotel…Wow! I fell in love! If you are a Disney fan you will love this place, I only wish I could have bought some of the princess dresses!

Then we spent the rest of the day at the Tower of London. Steeped in history, it is well worth a visit. We managed to use Tesco vouchers for here as well meaning we managed to get us all in for half the price! Sadly we didn’t take many pictures here but it is a great stop on any sight seeing trip…allow yourself time to queue to see the crown jewels however, we sadly, didn’t manage to see them.

Not book related however I hope you enjoyed this rather extensive post! (Picture quality isn’t great however I have tried to keep them as book related as I could!). Normal book blogging will be resumed shortly…

 

Leave a Reply

