Book Review · Books · literature · reading · Young Adult Books

Book Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

First off, let me say that this is the first Sarah J. Maas novel I have read. I know that many people prefer the Throne of Glass series however, as I haven’t read it yet I am unable to compare!

On to the review…

A disappointed sigh escaped me as I began this book. A young girl out hunting with her bow, venturing further into the forest than was safe so that she could provide food for her family. Sound familiar? It wasn’t a great start but I was intrigued at the mention of faeries and the obvious fantasy element of the book.

You might say that the book is predictable, as it’s a retelling of Beauty and the Beast, this is of course inevitable. However, this is why I loved the story so much. Only a good writer can retell such a well known story successfully. Of course, the story would be nothing without good characters. I found the protagonist, Feyre, a bit of a let down. She was honestly rather trying at times, with her insistence on getting in to trouble. For me, it was Tamlin and Lucien that stole the show and kept me reading.

Maas is obviously a talented writer, her prose is beautiful but at times I felt it got a little too flowery, in particular with her description of painting. This is only a minor complaint though because she didn’t get too carried away with it. I think that all in all the pacing was very good.

If you love fantasies and of course, retellings, I think you will thoroughly enjoy this novel. Don’t be put off by the opening as I nearly was, you are not reading a rehash of The Hunger Games! I look forward to reading more from this talented author.

3 thoughts on “Book Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Leave a Reply

