5 Books to Make you Think

Everybody’s reasons for reading are different. We read for enjoyment, for escapism, for relaxation. I love to read a book that challenges me, alters my thought process or sometimes just plain baffles me. So, here are 5 books that kept me thinking long after I’d finished them.

1. Lord of the Flies by William Golding

image

I must admit this one caught me off guard! I was about 13 when I read it and had never heard of it before then. So yes, I was pretty shocked when I realised what I was reading. Thought provoking, challenging and devastating. This novel explores the savage instincts of a group of civil boys with no rules.

2. Noughts and Crosses by Malorie Blackman

image

Blackman turns racism on its head in this gripping read. It is quite common for teens to read To Kill a Mockingbird in school however, I think Noughts and Crosses could easily sit by it side by side in the curriculum. This crippled me as a young reader, right and wrong becomes black and white.

3. Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? by Philip K. Dick

image

Even the title is a question, challenging you to think even before you start reading. PKD’s challenge the way we see the world, as much of science fiction does. Androids questions not just what is real but what it makes it real and what makes us human. I promise it only hurts your brain a little!

4. More Than This by Patrick Ness

wp-1467231141393.jpg

I won’t say too much about this one…experience for yourself! This one kept me thinking long after I put the book down.

5. His Dark Materials by Philip Pullman

wp-1467231153627.jpg

Not technically one book…but I’m going to allow myself this one. Pullman explores religion, science and authority in this imaginary world so similar to ours yet so different. An adventure for children, that you just know is daring you to think rather than just enjoy.

 

 

5 thoughts on “5 Books to Make you Think

Leave a Reply

