5 Books for the Summer

I thought I would recommend five books to reach for on a lazy day in the sun.You may notice a distinct theme in my choices! There is something about the summer that makes me gravitate towards a love story. Sometimes heartwarming, sometimes heart wrenching but always a relaxing choice. Though if you’re reading some of these books poolside I would recommend a packet of tissues and a pair of sunglasses to maintain your dignity!

1. Dear John by Nicholas Sparks

image

What better to read in those summer months than a summer romance! Of course a Nicholas Sparks’ novel wouldn’t be right without its complications, but sometimes there’s nothing better than a good cry.

 

 

 

 

2. One Day by David Nicholls

image

If you’re not too emotionally wrought from my first suggestion then I dare you to give this one a read. A beautiful story with just enough British humour to get you through the darker passages.

 

 

 

 

3. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

image

Okay, sorry, I seem to have done it again! Here’s another one to make you blub. This one is YA so maybe not for everyone, but even if you wouldn’t usually read this genre I would still highly recommend it.

 

 

 

 

4. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

image

Hmm, seems odd to only just be recommending a love story written by a female author. Maybe you’ve already read this classic, but go on, read it again! The beautiful prose matches the beautiful summer days.

 

 

 

 

5. If You Could See Me Now by Cecelia Ahern

image

I’m quite proud of myself for not making this list purely a Cecelia Ahern dedicated list, but I couldn’t leave her out completely. Not strictly a romance but a love story none the less. A lovely, heartwarming and uplifting read to wrap up the summer.

 

 

 

 

What will you read this summer?

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “5 Books for the Summer

Leave a Reply

