Book Review · Books · literature · reading · Young Adult Books

Book Review: More Than This by Patrick Ness

image

I have heard a lot about Patrick Ness! Loads of people seem to be reading and loving him. I recently acquired two of his novels and decided to start my adventure into his world with More Than This.

So here’s how it went…

I am a committed reader, I can not mark a book as a DNF. I know its a fault of mine sometimes as I have soldiered my through the likes of Fifty Shades of Grey and now can never regain that lost reading time! However my perseverance often pays off. I’ll be honest, I did have some reservations about my DNF rule during Part 1 of the novel. Not because it wasn’t good though it just didn’t pull me in. I had this distinct feeling that I had read so many recycled versions of this story and I just wasn’t sure this one stood out enough for me to enjoy. I don’t need action to enjoy a novel but it felt just a little bit stagnant and as it is quite a long book I wasn’t sure it would be able to sustain.

Then!
Then Part 2 started!

What a change! Suddenly I was in a whole new book completely enthralled, confused and panicked in equal measure! I was so gripped and in shock at the sudden dramatic change. Only a truly good writer can inject that into a novel without making the book seem like two separate novels which I always find jarring.

I won’t say much about the story because I wouldn’t want to ruin it for anyone but I would liken it to reading a Philip K. Dick, especially because of the effect it had on me. There was enough emotion mixed in with suspense along with fantastic writing that was sustained throughout the entire novel. You don’t feel like you’re reading a book that is as long as this is, the pacing is perfect.

If you haven’t yet read anything by Patrick Ness then go and do it now! If you are already a loyal reader then I’m jealous that its taken me till now to discover him! I can’t wait to move on to the next one, I pray it lives up to my now high expectation.

3 thoughts on “Book Review: More Than This by Patrick Ness

Leave a Reply

