Book Review: Paper Towns by John Green

image

Quentin “Q” and Margo Roth Spiegelman live next door to each other. Although friends when they were kids they have now drifted apart and have little to do with each other, except maybe a glance across the school corridor. Until one night Margo drags Q into one of her adventures…then she’s gone. When Q wakes up next morning Margo is missing. So we’re all set for an exciting story!

Or not…

I was genuinely disappointed by the unfolding of this novel. I had high hopes, not just because I have been enjoying Green’s books but because he sets it up so well in the beginning. His usual witty style and well written characters were enjoyable however it wasn’t enough for me.

So this a coming of age story, about learning who you are, growing up. As usual he writes those pivotal teenage years when everyone feels like they’re at a tipping point.. but and there is a but, the disappearance of Margo haunts every page. I could have done with out it. Q who in the beginning I liked, annoyed me more and more as the book droned on and on and on…

The most interesting aspect of the novel is finding out that you don’t always know someone as well as you think. The different masks of Margo Roth Spiegelman intrigued me. How many times do you find yourself discovering something new about someone you thought you knew so well (especially when in high school!).

In my opinion had the novel not had the long and winding middle then this review would have been a lot brighter. I won’t ruin the ending for you but I will say that although it is an unexpected end I also found it deeply disappointing. After reading two excellent books by John Green this one fell flat for me. I won’t be in a hurry to read another novel of his…at least not just yet.

Leave a Reply

