Book Review · Books · chicklit · literature · reading

Book Review: How to Fall in Love by Cecelia Ahern

image

I have one word to describe this book and it is charming! Sounds cheesy I know, but it gave me that warm fuzzy feeling that Cecilia Ahern books so often do. So yes, I am about to gush yet again over one of her novels!

The premise of the story tackles a difficult topic. Suicide. This easily could have handled a much darker narrative and some might argue that it deserved such. However what I think Ahern manages so well in her writing is to take the difficult topic and tell it with a lightness of touch. Making it more relatable for those who otherwise might not fully connect with something as extreme as suicidal thoughts. Humour subtly oozes into her writing in stark contrast to the underlying theme.

In some ways the storyline seems a little absurd and unbelievable but that is completely forgiven by the way in which the story is told. It is an unusual approach to the boy meets girl scenario…especially as the boy (man) is about to jump off a bridge. However unusual though, it feels perfectly reasonable that, Christine , the protagonist should take it upon herself to try and help this stranger despite his many protests.

For me, Ahern’s novels are easy reading but that is meant with no disrespect. Her skill is to tell stories in a way that allows for any kind of reader to immerse themselves in. And quite often read a subject matter that they might not otherwise have come across.

Of course I recommend this, as I do with every Cecelia Ahern novel! Yes it was pretty predictable but that didn’t take away from the overall feel good feeling I got from the novel…it was just charming.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: How to Fall in Love by Cecelia Ahern

  1. Hi there! I just wanted to say that I really enjoyed this blog post of yours… Not just this one but all of them because they are all equally great.

    I should mention that because of how much I loved this post of yours I had to check out your blog and I couldn’t help but follow you because your blog is both amazing and beautiful. I am so happy I came across your blog and found it because I do really love it and I truly can’t wait to read more from you, so keep it up (:

    P.s. This comment is towards all of your blog posts because they are all equally amazing and incredible, keep up the great work (:

    Like

Leave a Reply

