Book Review: The Girl On The Train by Paula Hawkins

image

 

I’ll be honest I probably wouldn’t have picked up this novel if I hadn’t already read the gripping Gone Girl previously. I’m not adverse to reading thrillers but I’m not completely comfortable in this genre, partly because I’m anxious of disappointment. But when something comes highly recommended then I’m willing to give it a try!

Now, I admit I did have certain expectations when I began reading this novel. Like a train, I thought I was in for a high speed ride (see what I did there!) However just like most trains I found there was a delay. The pace was much slower than I had anticipated but in saying that it wasn’t any less intriguing. Strangely I felt that a good chunk of the narrative leant itself well to the romance genre. I became increasingly invested in the main protagonist’s emotional journey rather than in the disappearance of the young woman.

In saying that, I was soon intrigued by the suspense of discovering the truth. As with any book of this type, I was constantly wracking my brain trying to solve the mystery that lay at the heart of the novel. And although I did manage to outsmart the book before the answers were revealed! I still thoroughly enjoyed the way in which the disappearance was unraveled.

I was satisfied with the outcome of this book if a little disappointed in its final moments. I would recommend it based, not on the thriller aspect, but on the well written characters. Especially Rachel, who’s journey stood out as the main driving factor of this novel.

One thought on “Book Review: The Girl On The Train by Paula Hawkins

Leave a Reply

