5 Books · Books · reading

5 Books People Love but I Hate

So here’s some of  the books that people seem to love but I hate…maybe hate is a strong word but I definitely don’t like them with a passion. I am a big believer in personal opinion and I don’t think you should like a book just because other people say you should or because they have received awards.

I have left 50 Shades of Grey off this list because I think I have made my feelings about it quite clear! (you can read what I think here) I also think that it may be hated just as much as it is loved!

wpid-wp-1440429774996.jpeg

1.Paper Towns by John Green

So after reading The Fault in our Stars and Looking for Alaska I thought I would automatically like this one. As it turns out I really, really didn’t. People rave about it but I just can’t see the fascination…I found myself really hating the characters and yet I kept reading to find out what happened to the elusive Margo. And I was left extremely disappointed.

2.LOTR The Fellowship of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien

I so expected to enjoy this book. I loved The Hobbit and strangely I loved the films. And yet I struggled through every word in this book. Bored just isn’t the word! It has a huge following but I’m definitely not one of them.

3.The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath

I’ll make a confession…I haven’t actually read all of this book. It is a rare thing for me not to persevere but I couldn’t cope the self obsessed narrative and I completely just gave up. Maybe one day I’ll finish it…doubt it though.

4.The Alchemist by Paul Coelho

I have considered re-reading this book lately, I wonder if maybe I read it too young. It is a huge bestseller and it seems to have changed some people. To this day I still don’t know what happened in it. I don’t even remember any of the characters. This book left no impression on me whatsoever not even a smudge!

5.The Catcher in the Rye by J. D. Salinger

Now this book I really do hate. Like I really hate it. It’s hard to even put into words how much I hate it. I’m all for teen angst but no just no. Words escape me. I can barely write coherent sentences about this book so I’m not going to try.

I hope you enjoyed my list!

What would have made your list?

2 thoughts on “5 Books People Love but I Hate

  1. Lord of the Rings, definitely. I never survived past the first few pages. I mean, compare it to something like Harry Potter, where I can read HBP over and over again. Also, if you’re allowing something a little more classic, Lord of the Flies. Hey, I realized the names are similar. LOL.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

