Book Review · Books · literature

Book Review: Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

image

*Contains Spoilers*

I’m a bit behind the craze but I have finally read Gone Girl! It has been sat on my bookshelf since Christmas but it has taken me until now to pick it up. And I am so glad I finally did! It took me a little under 24 hours to devour this book and still left me hungry for more.

This genre isn’t ordinarily my thing, I grew up with my mum reading a lot of crime thrillers but I could never find one to hold my interest. I think the reason why Gone Girl intrigued me was the unusual mix of crime and chicklit. The casual narrative clashed with the dark plot in a jarring and surprisingly pleasing way.

The novel is, in essence, about perspective and the old clichĂ© ‘there’s always two sides to every story’. Interestingly, the first half of the novel provides us with two opposing perspectives of the same relationship. Of course we don’t find out the truth until the second half of the novel, leaving us with two unreliable narrator’s and no one to trust.

What I found extremely clever is that the first half of the novel sets up your (or at least my) sympathy for Amy. Which in turn meant that I found it very difficult to turn against her when Nick does. In fact I championed her selfish, ruthless and frankly psychotic behaviour despite the fact that my sympathy was really with the fake Amy…very cleverly done Flynn I applaud you! In an extremely twisted way, I held out hope that Amy and Nick would rekindle their forgotten love and live happily ever after.

A huge point in this books favour is the fact that it completely duped me. There was me sitting all smug thinking I had it all worked out then BAM! Completely differently story. Though the second half of the book was a little predictable I didn’t care because the first half of the book had taken me so much by surprise.

Gone Girl is so insightful and intelligently written that I recommend it to everyone! Even if like me, you don’t think it is your thing…read it anyway! Probably one of the best books I’ve read this year.

‘Friends see most of each other’s flaws. Spouses see every awful last bit’
– Gillian Flynn

One thought on “Book Review: Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

Leave a Reply

