5 Books with Great Female Characters

I’m going to let you in on my top 5 female characters. I’ve picked a hard list, with some great heroines out there it was difficult to cut it down to just five!

1. Hermione Granger from Harry Potter

Maybe an obvious favourite for a Harry Potter fan! But I love her. I remember thinking how good it was that finally there was a girl in a book who was bossy, overbearing and a know it all (just like I was at the time!) but at the same time was so likable. Lets be honest Hermione was the guiding light for Harry throughout the series, if it wasn’t for her I’m pretty convinced that Harry would have fallen at the first hurdle.

2. Sara Crewe from A Little Princess

A Little Princess is one of my all time favourite books so it is inevitable that Sara would be one of my all time favourite characters. Sara finds herself in a cruel world but she stays true to herself. Her most enticing quality is her imagination, the book itself is beautiful and I put this down to Sara’s endearing and lasting hope.

3. Katniss Everdeen from The Hunger Games

Katniss is an unusual heroine, mostly because she seems to be the typical hero instead. I don’t admire her for her male qualities I admire her despite them. She’s a strong, independent (though a little cold sometimes) character who sacrifices herself again and again for those around her…who wouldn’t like that?

4. Elizabeth Bennet from Pride and Prejudice

There is a reason for this books enduring popularity and its not just the stubborn but lovable Mr Darcy. Lizzy Bennet possesses all the qualities of a good heroine, her wit and charm and even her pride make her a likable and strong character, especially for the time period. She matches Mr Darcy in both brains and stubbornness! She’s probably the character I would most like to have round for dinner.

5. Lyra Belacqua from His Dark Materials

Lyra is head-strong, adventurous and not afraid to break the rules. Her and Pan’s relationship is one of my favourite friendships in a book. In what turns out to be a dark and disturbing world, Lyra shows only courage and stands up, no matter what, for what she believes in. I can’t see what young girl reading this book could dislike about Lyra…even though her bravery lands her in a quite a few sticky situations!

Do you agree with any of my choices? I’d love to hear what other people’s favourites would be!

You can can check out my other 5 book lists here

 

Let’s connect…

Facebook

Goodreads

Twitter

Instagram

3 thoughts on “5 Books with Great Female Characters

Leave a Reply

