Why I Write…

Recently I have been considering the reasons why I write. I’ve been thinking about what got me started writing when I was just 8.

Perhaps the first and main reason is because I love to read. I have devoured books for as long as I can remember. There is nothing like immersing yourself in another world, going on adventures in your bedroom. I still read a lot however as you get older other pressing issues arise, sometimes I just don’t have as much time to read as I would like. However when you are a child time seems endless. I went absolutely everywhere with a book, whether it was on the playground before school started in the morning or at the dining table, I always had my head in a book. I think what made me put pen to paper in the first place is the thought that I also had the ability to create these worlds. I didn’t just have to read other people’s stories I could make my own. So I did, I started writing and I never looked back.

As I got older I found a noticeable change in my writing. In my teens I was diagnosed with a disease that completely took over my life (and to be honest still does today). I missed a lot of school, I even opted to leave just after I turned 15. I had a lot of time to spare, a lot of time lying in bed and when I wasn’t reading I was writing. When I look back now I can see just how much of my emotion I managed to absorb into my writing. Instead of plot based, fantasy stories, my books became introverted, character based stories. I could read any piece of my writing for my teens now and tell you exactly how I was feeling in that moment of time.

Now that I am older I have learnt to control my emotions when writing. Don’t get me wrong I use every ounce of feeling I have but I have learnt when it is appropriate to let it out. My writing has grown with me. The novels I write now find a balance between the adventurous imaginings of a child and the emotional turmoil of a teen.

So why do I write?

I write to empty my head of heavy thoughts.
I write to express my emotion.
I write for an outlet on life.
I write to distance myself from what I’m feeling.
I write in the hope that one day others may be able to immerse themselves in my writing.
I write to remember.
And I write to forget.

Why do you write?

One thought on “Why I Write…

Leave a Reply

