Book Review

Book Review: Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl

IMG_20150322_215818978Let me start by saying that I love reading young adult fantasy novels, there is something about them that I just don’t get from adult ones. I have only read the first novel in this series and am still a little undecided about reading the rest.

I enjoyed it. At least as much as you can enjoy yet another ill fated love story. To be honest I didn’t find a lot of depth in this book. The characters were well written, the storyline was enjoyable yet something stopped me from getting excited over this book and I just can’t put my finger on what it is.

What did save this novel for me was Ethan. It was oddly refreshing to read a novel like this with a male protagonist. However I felt like the characters he was surrounded by lacked substance. Also his mother’s friend turned out to be a little too convenient for me.

The bones of the story were interesting enough, I liked the mystery and intrigue. The unravelling of the flashbacks and the back story of the curse is probably what kept me reading.

I know this review is quite muted and lacking substance too! It’s not that it is a bad book really, just…I’m really unsure how I feel about it…I guess it just didn’t stimulate or even bore me enough to be enthusiastic about it. I guess if I was to rate it, it would be a 4/10 the generosity mostly due to the writing.

I am hoping someone may be able to convince me to read the rest of the books, I really don’t like not finishing a series!

Has anyone else read Beautiful Creatures? Does it get better? Should I keep reading?


‘We only part to meet again’

John Gay

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl

  1. i liked the series but then the last one was a little drag for me….. the first one is amazing and then the series is a good series but then somehow it goes a little slow but if you ask me then it is a good read…

    Like

Leave a Reply

