Book Review · Books

Book Review: The Bunker Diary by Kevin Brooks

IMG_20150325_172630313

****Spoiler Alert****

The Bunker Diary won the 2014 CILIP Carnegie Medal. Other winners include The Amazing Maurice and his Educated Rodents, Northern Lights and Tom’s Midnight Garden. This is an award for an outstanding children’s book.

The Bunker Diary is not a children’s book. In fact I think it should come with a parental
advisory warning.

I had to read this novel for my current children’s literature course and I was looking forward to reading it. It is about a 16 year old boy, Linus, who is kidnapped and trapped in an underground bunker. Eventually five other people join him including a 9 year old girl. However I was not prepared for what I was about to read.

This book includes torture, starvation, drugs, rape, murder and death. I have read far worse books but none of them were classed as children’s books or even young adult. I don’t have anything against children’s books being gritty, facing challenging situations and dealing with the harsh realities of life. But this book goes beyond that, it places the reader in a terrifying position, with no possibilities and no hope.

The torture in the book is horrific, from being starved to being drugged. At one point in the novel an aggressive Doberman is sent down into the bunker and immediately rips into one of the characters. By the end of the novel all you can wish for them, is death. For some of them it means murder, for others suicide. But more than anything it is a slow and devastating death for them all.

The book is extremely well written, Kevin Brooks has a certain mastery of language and the narrative, although disjointed, works and flows perfectly. If this was not a children’s book I would have given it 10/10. It is a gripping read, it asks so many questions of humanity and yet answers none. The novel is brilliant in so many ways and it stayed with me long after I finished it. I think that it is just the shock that my nephew or cousin could pick this up unknowingly as a children’s book and I wouldn’t want them to witness what I read. I do think however this speaks to a far wider problem which is the thin line between children and young adult books. I wonder why it is that films have strict certificates, that my 14 year old cousin would be turned away from a rated 15 film and yet she could walk in to a book shop or library and pick up this book.


‘Farewell! God knows when we shall meet again’

Shakespeare

4 thoughts on “Book Review: The Bunker Diary by Kevin Brooks

Leave a Reply

