Books

Monthly Top 5: Childhood reads

monthly top 5

Monthly Top Five: Childhood reads

So, this is the start of my Monthly Top Five. I’m beginning with probably my hardest top five! As a child I couldn’t even begin to tell you how many books I read and loved! Let alone just pick my five favourites, but I’ve tried my best to narrow them down.

So in no particular order…

1. A Little Princess by Frances Hodgson Burnett

My mum bought this for my when I was about 7 mainly because it was one of her favourites as a child as well. I loved it! There is little else to say, I would read it again and again and still do to this day!

2. Georges Marvellous Medicine by Roald Dahl

I love Roald Dahl and it was difficult to pick just one of his, but for some reason this one was always my favourite! However I did get into the nasty habit of attempting to make my own medicine out of everything I could find in the bathroom…luckily I never drank it!

3. Malory Towers by Enid Blyton

The Enid Blyton shelf in the library was always my first stop. I haven’t picked just one out of the series because I always enjoyed them all equally as much. Every week I would take two books out of the library and one of the Malory Towers series was always one of them.

4. I Am David by Anne Holm

I read this in school when we were learning about WW2 and concentration camps. I think it might have been one of the first emotionally difficult books I ever read, it is such a moving story though written so simply.

5. The House at Pooh Corner by A. A. Milne

This book never fails to make me smile, I used to read it a lot as a child, any time I needed cheering up! A. A. Milne’s writing is so witty and of course the characters are extremely loveable!

So there you have it my Top Five Childhood Reads…

Anyone else agree with my choices? Feel free to comment and share any of your childhood reads!


‘How lucky am I to have something that makes saying goodbye so hard’

 A. A. Milne

8 thoughts on “Monthly Top 5: Childhood reads

Leave a Reply

