Book Review: The Year I Met You by Cecelia Ahern

image

I will start by saying that I adore Cecelia Ahern’s novels! I will in the future be looking back and reviewing the others I have read. But I will begin with this one as I have read it most recently.

For anyone who hasn’t read it, this is a book about putting yourself back together again, rediscovering who you are. In a lot of ways, many of Cecelia Ahern’s novels are about just that. What I love about her writing is the magic that she brings to simplicity. I know before I begin reading one of her books that I will enjoy it and I am never disappointed!

One of my favourite aspects of the book is Jasmine’s relationship with her sister. Her instinctive need to protect her versus her need for restraint so as not to smother her! Seeing her sister through Jasmine’s eyes is written beautifully.

Perhaps the most striking thing about the book is the narrative style. It is written in first person however it is also addressed to someone. She manages to achieve an intimacy with her readers with this narration.

This is a love story though not in the typical sense. It is about learning to love at so many different levels.

I would give it a 6/10 and recommend it to anyone who enjoys a real feel good book. I congratulate Cecelia Ahern on managing to bring a warmth to her storytelling that will put a smile on your face, a laugh in your belly and a tear to your eye.

‘Farewell! God knows when we shall meet again’
Shakespeare

One thought on “Book Review: The Year I Met You by Cecelia Ahern

Leave a Reply

