World Poetry Day: Teenager’s Heart

IMG_20150321_175422437

I’ve shared with you one of my favourite poems for World Poetry Day so I thought I would also share one of my own poems. I wrote this when I was about 12, I then entered it into a competition and it was published in a small anthology for teenagers when I was 14.

I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I enjoyed writing it.

Teenager’s Heart

It seems I don’t want to play anymore,
I have no reason to cry when I fall,
My clothes are all getting too small,
We all seem to be so tall,
Exams are coming quick and fast,
Childhood is now in the past.
My life is spinning round and round,
I listen with my ear to the ground,
Other people’s moans and cries,
Some wishing that they could die,
Everyone’s problems now out of control,
Gossip, truth and lies unfold,
This I tell you is a work of art,
A simple story of a teenager’s heart.


‘Never say goodbye because goodbye means going away and going away means forgetting.’

– J. M. Barrie

Leave a Reply

